Take a break in Zanzibar

Here’s the third and final part of my short but incredible trip to the gorgeous island of Zanzibar.

As I last mentioned the day I decided to do a full day tour I also did the Spice tour. This was incredibly interesting and insightful but unfortunately it makes for very boring pictures I’m afraid. All the photo’s would simply be of trees or bushes!

It was, for me, very insightful though to see what all the spices etc. look like in their natural form from cloves to vanilla (my favourite). The clove tree is the pride and joy of Zanzibar and highly governed. Each family is given a clove tree by the government and it is highly illegal to chop down a clove tree.

There were only three of us on the tour the day I went, a very recently married couple on their honeymoon joined me. They had just gotten married only a few days previously!

Decked out in our gifts!

Decked out in our gifts!

The locals are expert weavers and they made us these gifts of hats/crowns and ties for the guys and a handbag for the ladies. They were awesome and so well made. I gave mine to a tiny little boy in Stone Town who took my hand and asked serenely for it, I simply could not refuse him. I was so enthralled by the cute little tyke I never took his photograph, but the locals are not fond of it and seldom allow photo’s anyway. And since there was no adult in sight I couldn’t ask in any event. I felt good anyway…

We then went for a delicious lunch at the harbour in Stone Town before exploring the World heritage sight that is this amazing city.

Stone Town is incredible, it’s like nothing I have ever seen before. The buildings are basically falling down around you in very narrow streets and then you get these intricately designed wooden doors that are simply beautiful. On the streets are just shops after shops with extremely friendly shop keepers welcoming you inside their store.

Narrow Streets

Narrow Streets

Stone Town

Stone Town

Intricate Doors - a sure sign you're in Zanzibar

Intricate Doors – a sure sign you’re in Zanzibar

I’m not sure how many people know this but Freddy Mercury from Queen was born in Zanzibar.

Mercury House

Mercury House

Another door

Another door

The House of Wonders is best viewed from the Forodhani Gardens on the old town’s sea front. It is so named because it was the first building in Zanzibar to have electricity and also the first building in East Africa to have an elevator.

House of Wonders

House of Wonders

IMG-20140924-00834

Zanzibari scaffolding

Zanzibari scaffolding

I really had such a laugh at the above picture, yes those are simply wooden poles tied together with twine used as scaffolding in Zanzibar. They build these themselves as needed and simply climb up and do what is required. You would not catch me dead on those precarious poles!

Now for what Zanzibar is famous for, sea, sand, surf. Enjoy!

Sunset

Sunset

Fishing boats

Fishing boats

Sand, sea

Sand, sea

Cool, clear water

Cool, clear water

Beautiful

Beautiful

Zanzibar is really an incredible island, there is much to see and do or you can simply do nothing at all.

I had a fantastic time and once again I need to thank Sure Travel for suggesting this incredible experience. I honestly cannot wait to go back!

It is the four day Easter weekend this weekend and here’s wishing everyone happy and safe travels!

Take care, till next time….

“The most beautiful thing in the world is, of course, the world itself.” – Wallace Stevens

Cheers,

Wayne

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Take a break in Zanzibar

  1. Hi Wayne, great blog, Natalie loved Zanzibar! We love spice tours as well but you are right about the, not being photogenic. If only we could link blogs up to a sniff-o-meter and smell the spices! We have just nominated you for the Liebster Award. You can check out the questions and answers on our blog this week http://thesmartwayround.com/2015/05/04/liebster-award-getting-to-know-the-smart-way-round/

    We hope you are well! Am in Budapest so had a few cheeky cabbage rolls for you tonight!
    -Dean

    Like

  2. waynegads says:

    Ah Dean, I really wish you could mail me those cabbage rolls! I’ve got to try and make them at home because I am just dying to experience that feeling again of being in Budapest! Have a great trip and thanks for the nomination! take care

    Like

Leave a Reply

