Karibu Zanzibar!

As my last blog was all about the experience and practicalities of visiting Zanzibar so this one is all about what an awesome and wonderful part of the world this friendly island is.

As this was my first island experience I really have no authority in saying this but there is just something about an island in Africa. It feels so far removed from Africa, yet is so close to it.

Zanzibar is by no means a wealthy nation but you wouldn’t know it by the people who are possibly the most friendly I have ever encountered. At the end of the day you are practically exhausted of saying “Jambo” to every single person you pass. ‘Jambo’ means hello and every one you pass will say it to you, every time.

I stayed at the Double Tree Hilton hotel in Nungwi. The town (and I use this word very lightly) is essentially a fishing village but you do go to Zanzibar to relax after all.

The island also has incredible things to do from visits to Prison Island where the giant tortoises are to visiting the world heritage sight that is Stone Town. The island is steeped in history which is exactly why I chose it.

The Double Tree Hilton is in the very North of the island. I’m told that this is the best part of the island as the tide does not go as far out as the rest of the island. The hotel was really outstanding, I opted for the All Inclusive package and it was definitely worth every cent. The service is incredible, the food absolutely delicious and too much, the rooms are gorgeous and you don’t have to think about a thing while you are there because everything is included except of course any tours you’d want to do or the Spa.

The reception of the Double Tree Hotel

The reception of the Double Tree Hotel

On arrival they give you the most delicious chocolate chip cookie and an ice cold iced tea while you wait for your room to be allocated.

My gorgeous room with not one, but two full queen sized beds!

My gorgeous room with not one, but two full queen sized beds!

Double Tree by Hilton

Double Tree by Hilton

Pool Bar and pool

Pool Bar and pool

Double Tree by Hilton at night

Double Tree by Hilton at night

Early morning pool view

Early morning pool view

The beach - I spent many hours under those Tiki huts

The beach – I spent many hours under those Tiki huts

Spectacular view

Spectacular view

You can get drinks and snacks delivered to you right on the beach!

Cocktail time!

Cocktail time!

Local Tanzanian Beer

Local Tanzanian Beer

I was, sadly, only there for four days and my sole purpose of going to Zanzibar was to relax but I also wanted to see the sights. So I took one full day and did all the tours in one day. This was so that I could maximize my relaxing time on the rest of the days. I went to Prison Island  – not so called because of prisoners as no prisoners were actually housed there, now home to giant tortoises. I also did the Spice Island tour and of course a tour of Stone Town, a World Heritage sight.

On the boat to Prison Island

On the boat to Prison Island

Approaching Prison Island

Approaching Prison Island

Look how blue that sea is, absolutely gorgeous!

Feeding the Giant tortoises.

Feeding the Giant tortoises.

Big guy!

Big guy!

These tortoises can grow to be hundreds of years old.

From Prison Island - Zanzibar in the distance

From Prison Island – Zanzibar in the distance

The beach at the hotel at low tide, notice the seaweed.

The beach at the hotel at low tide, notice the seaweed.

That’s all I have time for today. In a few days I will tell you about the rest of the tour on the Spice Island and Stone Town tours.

I leave you with this apt quote…

“The tans may fade but the memories will last forever” – unknown

Cheers,

 

Wayne

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Karibu Zanzibar!

  1. Sure Travel says:

    What a wonderful blog post Wayne! The colour of the water in that one picture – wow!!

    Like

  2. waynegads says:

    Thanks for visiting! Yes, isn’t it incredible. You can see all the way to the sand on the bottom of the ocean, crystal clear.

    Like

Leave a Reply

