To memories made

After visiting Salzburg in Austria I headed back up to Munich, Germany from where I would fly back home to Johannesburg, South Africa. My Imperial city tour of Europe had come to an end.

Strangely, for South Africans anyway, all the shops etc. were closed in Munich on a Sunday, the day my tour ended. I felt it was quite a wasted day and spent most of it in my hotel room and the hotel restaurant. The hotel graciously allowed late check-out which was really helpful. The weather was also absolutely terrible on the last day which made going out quite an ordeal anyway.

It was somewhat of a disappointment for me not being able to do much on my last day. My trip to Italy the previous year spoiled me as I did a tremendous amount of shopping on my last day there in Rome which was wonderful!

Cute houses near the hotel in Munich

Cute houses near the hotel in Munich

 

Munich

Munich

Absolutely pouring with rain!

Absolutely pouring with rain!

I had an absolutely incredible trip which I did not want to end. I wanted to go back to Budapest and eat myself sick on cabbage rolls. I wanted to go back to Prague and walk those old streets slowly with no purpose or destination in mind. I wanted to eat, drink and be merry some more in Munich and get more culture in Vienna. I wanted to go back to that street café in Salzburg and people watch some more while enjoying a big Stiegl beer. This was a great tour and I loved every minute, memories that I will cherish forever with a  big smile on my face.

Stiegl Beer in Salzburg, Austria. Yum!

Stiegl Beer in Salzburg, Austria. Yum!

Thanks again to Trafalgar  – http://www.Trafalgar.com/sa – , my wonderful agent at Sure Travel Scene (Doriane you rock!) – http://www.SureTravel.co.za or info@TravelScene.co.za or Doriane@Travelscene.co.za for personal service.

A few weeks before leaving for Europe, I decided that I needed some relaxing time before getting back to the grind of daily life. Europe is such a big place to visit that to see all the sights etc. can be super hectic, there can be little time to simply relax, which is great, but I felt I needed a few days afterward to just rest before heading back to work, life etc. I enquired by my Sure Travel agent on some suggestions of a relaxing couple of days and they kindly suggested Zanzibar! A small island off the coast of Tanzania, Africa.

After that suggestion was made, I must confess, my mind would not go anywhere else. Just imagine, tropical island, sea, sand, cocktails and historical significance to boot? Sounds like paradise to me! Suddenly, my Europe trip ending wasn’t so bad after all! Zanzibar really appealed to me, a place to absolutely relax but also with sightseeing and a great history that belies this tiny island and only a three hour flight away, I couldn’t wait!

But, I’m afraid, you will have to……

Read all about my Zanzibar trip in my next blog, in a few days time.

Hope to see you there, till then…….

No one realizes how beautiful it is to travel until he comes home and rests his head on his old, familiar pillow” – Lin Yutang

Cheers,

 

Wayne

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To memories made

  1. Doriane says:

    Thanks Wayne – I stand truly proud to have arranged this magnificent trip for you with the help of such a fantastic supplier – Trafalgar Tours, and to know those memories will stay embedded in your mind for a lifetime truly makes my job so rewarding !
    The best part about memories is making them 🙂

    Like

    • waynegads says:

      I couldn’t have said that better! Thanks and I hope to make many, many more memories with you and Sure Travel Scene. Here’s to tons more travel! Take care and thanks for reading my blog.

      Like

  2. Another excellent story Wayne, we love reading your blog! Cant wait to hear about Zanzibar (Natalie has been there but Dean has not). Have you got any travel pans for this year yet?

    Like

    • waynegads says:

      Hey guys, so glad to see you’re back from Cuba! Hope it was an awesome trip. Thanks for stopping by to read my blog and thanks for your comment. Yes, Zanzibar coming up soon! Yes, I have booked a tour of Turkey for later this year and cannot wait, seems like such a diverse and interesting country. But before that I will be going on a little local R & R to a small town here in South Africa for a week, looking forward to the rest. Take care and keep well. Wayne

      Like

Leave a Reply

