Von Trapped in Salzburg

The next leg of my incredible Europe tour was Salzburg and what an incredibly picturesque area this is. In the mountains with absolutely beautiful scenery everywhere.

Also it is the home of the musical “The Sound of Music” and I was even lucky enough to stay in undoubtedly the best hotel during this entire trip, the Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron where scenes from the film were shot. Breakfast was served in the actual palace! What a treat, and again only something that could be achieved by Trafalgar tours, yet another ‘insider experience’.

Schloss Leopoldskron

Schloss Leopoldskron

 

The views from the magnificent hotel were, well, magnificent!

 

Views over the lake

Views over the lake

 

In the grounds of Schloss Leopoldskron

In the grounds of Schloss Leopoldskron

 

We also went to the city which was a really awesome city. We visited the house where Mozart was born. I was also a bit shopped out by this point so I found an out-of-the- way street café and sat doing some people watching for a couple of hours. It was incredibly relaxing and I really felt like I was mingling with the locals.

The house where Mozart was born

The house where Mozart was born

 

The food stalls in the city were also quite incredible. If you thought the pretzels in Germany were something you haven’t seen the one’s in Salzburg. They even have one’s covered in chocolate!

 

Meat in every form imaginable

Meat in every form imaginable

 

Pretzels, every which way. Chocolate covered are so decadent!

Pretzels, every which way. Chocolate covered are so decadent!

 

I mentioned we had breakfast in the opulent palace. I literally almost forgot to eat I was so awestruck by the opulence!

The dining room in the Schloss Leopoldskron Palace

The dining room in the Schloss Leopoldskron Palace

 

The view from the Palace balcony

The view from the Palace balcony

Beautiful!

Beautiful!

 

We also took a day trip into Germany from Salzburg to visit Hitler’s Eagles Nest, while I cannot fathom why someone didn’t think to throw him off it, it was certainly breathtakingly beautiful.

The man himself was terrified of heights and actually only visited a few times even though it was a gift to him for his 50th Birthday. Construction was completed in a record 13 months, I can only imagine how badly the workers were treated to work this quickly even in the dead of winter. It was completed in 1938.

You get to the top with specially adapted buses that travel along breathtaking scenery on a long and winding one track road, go through an underground tunnel in the mountain and then get in a lift which travels 124 meters directly up into the mountain. Quite a journey but the views are certainly worth it!

Underground tunnel to the elevator. Very cold and wet.

Underground tunnel to the elevator. Very cold and wet.

 

Hitler's Eagles Nest

Hitler’s Eagles Nest

 

Views from the Eagle's Nest

Views from the Eagle’s Nest

 

Breathtaking

Breathtaking

 

So that was my time in Salzburg and I loved it. Probably the most picturesque city on this tour, in the mountains with incredible scenery.

I say goodbye this week with my customary travel quote.

“I don’t know where I’m going, but I’m on my way” – Carl Sagan

 

Cheers, till next time.

 

Wayne

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Von Trapped in Salzburg

  1. Sure Travel says:

    Wow! The fact that you got to stay in Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron is awesome! Stunning photos

    Like

  2. Those are some very nice photos of the lake, Wayne. Stunning.

    Like

    • waynegads says:

      Thanks, really appreciate your visit and comment. I’m afraid sometimes a photo cannot do justice to how beautiful something truly is to experience it but I try to capture that memory.

      Like

  3. Beautiful photos – but you’re right, photos never ever do a place justice! I know from all the pics I take of my travels, it’s exactly the same!
    Now I have “The Hills are alive….” stuck in my head!
    Have a good day!

    Like

    • waynegads says:

      Thanks so much for visiting my blog, so appreciate it! Yep, actually being there looking at the incredible scenery or amazing sunset etc. can never really be shown on a photo. The experience is so much more rewarding than the photo will ever be, BUT, the photo has the power to put you right back into that experience instantly! The hills certainly are alive in Austria! Thanks again for visiting and have a great day too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

