My house in Budapest

Unlike the George Ezra song I, sadly, do not have a house in Budapest but I really wish I did.

Budapest, Hungary was the next stop on my Europe tour with Trafalgar and was I surprised by it. This wonderful city certainly sits in the top three of best cities I have ever had the pleasure of seeing and the food was delicious too!

What an amazing city, the views, the food and even the people were all wonderful and I spent a couple of days with my mouth hanging open, unless of course I was stuffing it with delicious food such and real Hungarian Goulash and cabbage rolls!

Budapest2

The Hungarian Flag

Of all the cities I visited during this tour, Budapest was my hands down favorite.  For a city to be enjoyable for me it has to have a combination of things, great sights, architecture, experiences and very importantly great food! Budapest has it all.

It all started with this view from my hotel room – I just knew that this was going to be a wonderful city.

View from my Hotel Room

View from my Hotel Room

I then went to the Fisherman’s Bastion and the imposing Matthias Church

Matthias Church

Matthias Church

 

The mighty Fisherman's Bastion

The mighty Fisherman’s Bastion

The photo cannot do this mighty structure any justice, it is an imposing, gigantic structure that takes your breath away just by the pure craftsmanship of creating this huge monument.

The Fisherman’s Bastion is said to be neo-Gothic and neo-Romanesque in style and is situated on the Buda side of the great Danube River on Castle hill around Matthias Church. It really is a sight to behold.

But just as your dazzling eyes get used to this fantastical structure you notice the view over the Danube towards Pest and again you are at a loss for words as your breath again catches in your chest.

View from the Fisherman's Bastion over the mighty Danube River

View from the Fisherman’s Bastion over the mighty Danube River

The impressive Hungarian Parliament Building

The impressive Hungarian Parliament Building

Once again I have to use words like ‘imposing’, ‘impressive’ and down right ‘grand’ to describe the Hungarian Parliament building. It’s structure alone is absolutely breathtaking overlooking the Danube river in all its glory. It is even more impressive on the inside with everything gilded in gold, it is absolutely beautiful.

I also had one of the greatest pleasures of my life going on a dinner cruise on the mighty Danube river and seeing all the building gloriously lit up at night. Again it is an indescribable sight to behold and….. I’m at a loss for words to describe how beautiful it is.

Hungarian Parliament building lit up at night as seen on a Danube River dinner cruise.

Hungarian Parliament building lit up at night as seen on a Danube River dinner cruise.

I also decided, since it was a bit of a cloudy day to capture some photo’s in black and white and this is one of my favorites. I’m thinking of enlarging it to put up on a wall. See how the Danube River curves and twists with the parliament building on the right and the wonderful bridge crossing the river.

The Danube

The Danube

I also went to visit St Stephen’s Basilica in the heart of Budapest. It is named after Stephen, the first King of Hungary whose, creepily, right hand is housed there! Ewww!!!

I also climbed the 364 stairs and caught a lift to the top of the panorama tower to overlook the whole city of Budapest which, as everything I’ve now come to realize, was breathtaking.

St Stephen's Basilica

St Stephen’s Basilica

364 winding steps up to the top of the Panorama Tower - St Stephen's Basilica

364 winding steps up to the top of the Panorama Tower – St Stephen’s Basilica

The incredible view at the top of the Panorama tower of St Stephen's Basilica

The incredible view at the top of the Panorama tower of St Stephen’s Basilica

 

View from Panorama tower

View from Panorama tower

A selfie from the Fisherman's Bastion

A selfie from the Fisherman’s Bastion

 

Close up of the Hungarian Parliament

Close up of the Hungarian Parliament

Inside the opulent Hungarian Parliament

Inside the opulent Hungarian Parliament

 

Oh, did I mention the food? We had the absolute pleasure of eating at the world famous Gundel’s restaurant in Budapest. We had their signature dish, the Gundel palacsinta. This is a crepe with a rum, raisin and walnut filling, served with chocolate sauce. So yummy!!

The restaurant has been frequented by such noble people as Queen Elizabeth II of England and Pope John Paul II – it is certainly an experience not to be missed when visiting Budapest and Hungary.

Delicious signature crepe at Gundel's restaurant

Delicious signature crepe at Gundel’s restaurant

 

On that delicious note I leave you again. Hope you loved today’s blog as much as I enjoyed reminiscing about one the most wonderful, imperial cities of Europe.

I may have mentioned this before but just a reminder that this was part of the ‘Imperial Highlights’ tour with Trafalgar travel. I often add links to their sight but here it is again for ease of reference http://www.trafalgar.com it really is worth the visit to check out their incredible itineraries.

Also for great travel agents in South Africa for any type of travel contact Sure Travel or Sure Travel Scene at http://www.SureTravel.co.za or on Twitter @SureTravel or @SureTravelScene

At least the wait was not too long this time, till next time…

“A traveler without observation is a bird without wings.” – Moslih Eddin Saadi

Cheers,

 

Wayne

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

